Daily Post – The second post is half the battle

The other half the battle was staying awake long enough to post a second time. But actually the second post is technically half the battle until post three… in which it becomes a third-.. Oh God, what have I gotten myself into?

All silliness aside(…but really some silliness) after posting about being a couch potato who accomplished nothing regularly, I bet repeat readers are wondering what I’ve accomplished. I didn’t go running, ate take out, and took a nap in the middle of the day.

BUT!

I am proud of myself because I went out and bought some supplies for language learning and spent the last hour and a half using them. Before that I worked on a small business venture for a friend helping her sort out ideas. I didn’t go for a run, but shortly after this post I think I’ll cram in a few push ups before bed. I touched my guitar and uke, teaching one friend a song and writing a little music for another.

In short, I got off my ass.

In realizing that I’ve been a slave to my own lethargy, I took a few conscious steps towards accomplishing the things I’ve been telling myself I would do by getting up to do a few of them when they struck me.

Guys, I vaccuumed. You don’t know how happy that made my mother. If you’re not sure, the answer is extremely happy. At some point I may take a reference picture for you. It’ll be glorious. She’s a lovely lady.

Anyway, I’m proud of myself because I changed something yesterday. One simple change in the way I decided to think about the value of doing things has laid the groundwork for something even better. And to all of you who subscribed, I want to say, “thanks.” The likes and follows inspired me to write this even more, and I feel like it’s a step in the right direction. Anyone who made it this far, thanks for reading.

Ps. I did the push ups and some abs too.

Leave a comment