Ice Bucket Challenge

In light of all the ALS Ice Bucket challenge backlash, I thought I would throw out some quick numbers to the people of America.

If all the people in America did the Ice Bucket Challenge… It would equate to roughly 941 MILLION gallons of water being used(not wasted) to raise awareness for ALS and give us all a brief moment to understand what the early stages of ALS feel like… Numbness. Slowly losing the ability to move on your own sounds bad enough… But not to be able to touch, feel or taste… Eventually losing the ability to care for yourself in any capacity… To breathe on your own. I shudder at the thought.

I’d like to take a moment now to point out that if every one in the US decided to skip just one shower for one day, we would have saved 47 BILLION gallons of water. That means that if we did 1/50th

Think of all the water we use to clean our dishes and our cars and our laundry… How often do we really stop to be water conscious? I have to admit that I personally don’t do it that often. But I’m tired of listening to people berate others for a small moment of activism without considering that there’s always something they can do personally to be proactive.

Which I why I propose two things:

1. Since the water they’re using will never make it to the people around the world who don’t have clean water, here’s a link to a website where you can donate to give people access to clean water:

http://thewaterproject.org/

You can also just read about water scarcity and what you can do to prevent it or alleviate the issue.

2. I’ve created a facebook event that you and anyone you know can participate in. The purpose of this is to see how many people I can convince to skip a shower one time in hopes of raising awareness about water conservation. Remember, If 1/50th of the US population skipped just one shower… It would save more water the the Ice Bucket Challenge ever used and possibly raise awareness about water conservation. So here’s a link to that below.

I’m calling it Stay Dirty(For Clean Water)

it’s on November 24th to give it time to be spread.

Thanks for reading, looking, etc.

http://www.tinyurl.com/StayDirty

Leave a comment